that which is loved is always beautiful

I’m not gonna lie… I have this long post in my drafts that I have been working on for days. But after the day I have had it warrants a different post.

Today has to be one of the worst days in our journey to the wedding. I am completely stressed out trying to juggle everything going on in my life and I find out today that someone who means so much to me is just not looking forward to our wedding at all. This really should not come as any surprise to me being as they haven’t done a lot with me. Don’t get me wrong… I love having Ryan help me and he has gone far and beyond what most fiancés will do. I just feel like this person is someone who is supposed to be supporting me and helping me make some of the decisions about this day and I am getting…. nothing. I let them know of appointments and things I have going on but it seems to me that they don’t really want anything to do with our wedding. All I ask for is time and a little emotion… it just feels to me that the only people excited about me getting married is me and Ryan. It gets depressing…

After today I am done asking for help, your time, or support… and I will no longer carry the burden of what you are missing out on. One day you will look back and regret the words and actions that have pushed me to this point. I would still love for find some excitement within yourself for one of the best days of my life, but I have given up on getting it. Sometimes no matter how bad you want something, you just can have it. Regardless of your attitude towards my marriage, our wedding, or this journey… it is still going to be the best day of my life and you are not going to rain on my parade.

My future husband has only shown me just how lucky I am to have him in my life. He is my rock when I am feeling down, depressed, or crying. I needed him today and he was right there and made sure that before he left for work I was smiling. I feel incredibly blessed and he deserves this little shoutout

 

Your wedding day is what most of us women dream about and plan from the time we are very young. My wedding is not the wedding I dreamed of years ago, before I had a concept on money. My wedding is now a direct reflection of me, Ryan, our relationship, and how I hope our marriage is going to be. I refuse to let anything or anyone hinder this day from being anything less than perfect.

Ladies and Gents… your wedding day is one day. You only have one time to get things right. Don’t compromise with anyone but yourself and your spouse; you two are the ones who can decide what aspects are the most important and what aspects you can live without. Be sure to shop around; you, your friends, your family, your future hubby can DIY the parts of your wedding that can be done by someone other than Martha Stewart. This will not only save you some money (if you play it right), but it will give you a chance to bond and share this experience with many people and possibly help pay for those things that would not have fit into your budget otherwise. Unless you are on a tight timeline… take your time. I looked at well over 15 venues before picking one. My patience allowed me to book a venue that looks very similar to one I LOVED but was far beyond my price range. At the end of the day you want to be happy and have very few regrets. Unless you have a vow renewal later in life and decide to make it a second wedding, not may people get a do-over on their wedding. Use all of your resources; ask friends, people you know that recently got married, look on wedding discussion boards… all of these things have helped me in one way or another.

My last word of advice… stay calm. I have not had to become a bridezilla, and it is mostly due to my wonderful man. Things will work out but being ugly or mean won’t get you anywhere. Stay calm, pray, and enjoy… these days will fly by and be gone before you know it.

Goodnight from North Carolina!

Leave a Reply

